Banks to remain closed on these days in October 2022; Check out full list of holidays here

The list of bank holidays for the month of October has been made public by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI).

List of bank holidays for the month of October has been made public by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). The RBI holiday calendar indicates that there will be a total of 21 days this month when banks are closed. All Sundays and the second and fourth Saturdays of each month fall under this category.

The RBI creates a list of holidays for each month. It is announced under three headings: Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday, Negotiable Instruments Act Holiday, and Banks’ Closing of Accounts.


Several regional holidays, like as Deepawali, Karva Chauth, and Durga Puja, will also see banks closed.

Due to regional holidays, banks won’t be open for 15 days in October, per the RBI holiday calendar. It is therefore recommended that you schedule your tasks linked to banks accordingly. Although the branches will be closed during these holidays, services like online banking and UPI won’t be impacted.

The complete list of bank holidays for October 2022 is provided below:

October 2: First Sunday

October 8: Second Saturday

October 9: Second Sunday

October 16: Third Sunday

October 22: Fourth Saturday

October 23: Fourth Sunday

October 30: Fifth Sunday

National and Regional Holidays:

October 1: Half Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts – Gangtok

October 3: Durga Puja (Maha Ashtami) – Agartala, Bhubaneswar, Guwahati, Imphal, Kolkata, Patna, and Ranchi.

October 4: Durga Puja/Dussehra (Maha Navami)/Ayudha pooja/Janmotsav of Srimanta Sankardeva – Agartala, Bengaluru, Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Gangtok, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Patna, Ranchi, Shillong, and Thiruvananthapuram.

October 5: Durga Puja/Dussehra (Vijaya Dashmi)/Janmotsav of Srimanta Sankardeva – All except Imphal.

October 6: Durga Puja (Dasain) – Gangtok

October 7: Durga Puja (Dasain) – Gangtok

October 8: Milad-i-Sherif/Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi (Birthday of Prophet Muhammed) – Bhopal, Jammu, Kochi, Srinagar, and Thiruvananthapuram.

October 13: Karva Chauth – Shimla

October 14: Friday following Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi – Jammu and Srinagar.

October 18: Kati Bihu – Guwahati.

October 24: Kali Puja/Deepavali/Diwali (Laxmi Pujan)/Naraka Chaturdashi – All except Gangtok, Hyderabad, and Imphal.

October 25: Laxmi Puja/Deepawali/Govardhan Pooja – Gangtok, Hyderabad, Imphal, and Jaipur.

October 26: Govardhan Pooja/Vikram Samvant New Year Day/Bhai Bij/Bhai Duj/Diwali (Bali Pratipada)/Laxmi Puja/Accession Day – Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bengaluru, Dehradun, Gangtok, Jammu, Kanpur, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, Shimla, and Srinagar.

October 27: Bhaidooj/Chitragupt Jayanti/Laxmi Puja/Deepawali/Ningol Chakkouba – Gangtok, Imphal, Kanpur, and Lucknow.

October 31: Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel’s Birthday/Surya Pashti Dala Chhath (Morning ardhya)/Chhath Puja – Ahmedabad, Patna, and Ranchi.