India for the first time to hold the G20 presidency and will convene the leader’s summit in 2023

The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA)  introduced the appointment of Commerce and Industry Minister Piyush Goyal as India’s Sherpa for the G20.

On September 7, the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) presented the appointment of Minister of Trade and Industry Piyush Goyal as India’s Sherpa to the G20, an influential group that unites the world’s largest economies.

Before Goyal, Suresh Prabhu was G20 Indian Sherpa. In making the announcement, the MEA announced that India will chair the G20 from December 1, 2022, with the country hosting the first G20 Leaders Summit in 2023. It is planned to be held from 30 to 31 October under the chairmanship of Italy.


The G20 members are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

“Piyush Goyal, Trade Union Secretary for Trade and Industry, Consumer Affairs, Food and Textiles, has been appointed India’s Sherpa to the G20,” the Foreign Ministry said in a statement. Prime Minister Modi has led India’s illustration at the G20 summits since 2014.

India has been a member of the G20 since its founding in 1999. “India can be part of the G20. The G20 troika (previous, current, and upcoming chairmanship of the G20) from December 1, 2021, to November 30, 2024, ”the message says. According to the MEA.

G20 brings together 19 leading economies of the world and the European Union, its members represent over 80% of world GDP, 75% of world trade, and 60% of the world’s population, consistent with the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA).