When was the last time a Canadian team won the Stanley Cup?

Hockey’s deep roots are intertwined with Canadian culture, stretching back to 1875 when the inaugural organized game was puck-dropped. The sport has since woven itself into the fabric of the Great White North, becoming a quintessential part of its identity.

It’s no surprise, then, that the NHL holds such sway in Canada. Canadians don’t just watch hockey; they inhale it like a double-double from Tim Hortons. Their fandom is more intricate and passionate than a Zamboni’s maneuvering on freshly flooded ice.


Despite this fervor, Canada’s love affair with the NHL hasn’t seen a Stanley Cup journey north in three decades. Sure, Canadian teams have danced tantalizingly close to the championship, their fans tantalized with dreams of sipping from Lord Stanley’s Cup once more. But alas, the cup has remained south, tauntingly out of reach.

Could 2024 be the year the drought ends? The Edmonton Oilers have boldly stormed into the Stanley Cup Final, igniting hopes that the championship might finally return to Canadian soil.

And just how long has it been since that glorious Cup last graced Canada’s borders? The answer lies in the dusty annals of hockey history, revealing who hoisted the trophy last for Canada’s NHL teams.



Last Canadian team to win the Stanley Cup

Since the Montreal Canadiens hoisted the Stanley Cup in 1993, no Canadian team has managed to replicate their success. The Canadiens, known as the winningest team in NHL history, clinched their championship by defeating the Los Angeles Kings in a thrilling series.

Montreal’s journey to the 1993 Stanley Cup was marked by memorable victories and dramatic moments. They began their playoff run by dispatching the Nordiques in six games, followed by a sweep of the Buffalo Sabres and a five-game series win against the New York Islanders. Led by key players like Patrick Roy, Vincent Damphousse, and Kirk Muller, the Canadiens faced adversity early in the Final, falling behind 1-0 after a Game 1 loss to the Kings.

However, the series took a turn in Game 2 when Marty McSorley of the Kings was penalized for using an illegal stick. With the Canadiens trailing 2-1 late in the third period, Eric Desjardins capitalized on the power play opportunity, knotting the game at 2-2. Desjardins then went on to score the game-winning goal in overtime, setting the stage for Montreal’s historic run of three consecutive overtime victories. They ultimately clinched the series 4-1 with a dominant performance in Game 5 at the Montreal Forum.

Despite numerous close calls and valiant efforts, no Canadian team has lifted the Stanley Cup since then. The Vancouver Canucks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Ottawa Senators, and more recently, the Montreal Canadiens in 2021, have all reached the Stanley Cup Final but fell short in their quest for hockey’s ultimate prize. Each team brought their own brand of excitement and heartbreak to the finals, showcasing the depth of talent and passion for hockey across Canada.

While the NHL landscape has shifted over the years, and Canadian teams continue to strive for another championship, the Canadiens remain the last team to celebrate a Stanley Cup victory on Canadian soil. As hockey fans eagerly await the next chapter in this storied quest, the legacy of Montreal’s 1993 triumph continues to resonate throughout the Great White North.


Stanley Cup winners year by year

Season Winner Series Runner-up
2023 Vegas Golden Knights 4-1 Florida Panthers
2022 Colorado Avalanche 4-2 Tampa Bay Lightning
2021 Tampa Bay Lightning 4-1 Montreal Canadiens
2020 Tampa Bay Lightning 4-2 Dallas Stars
2019 St. Louis Blues 4-3 Boston Bruins
2018 Washington Capitals 4-1 Vegas Golden Knights
2017 Pittsburgh Penguins 4-2 Nashville Predators
2016 Pittsburgh Penguins 4-2 San Jose Sharks
2015 Chicago Blackhawks 4-2 Tampa Bay Lightning
2014 Los Angeles Kings 4-2 New York Rangers
2013 Chicago Blackhawks 4-2 Boston Bruins
2012 Los Angeles Kings 4-2 New Jersey Devils
2011 Boston Bruins 4-3 Vancouver Canucks
2010 Chicago Blackhawks 4-2 Philadelphia Flyers
2009 Pittsburgh Penguins 4-3 Detroit Red Wings
2008 Detroit Red Wings 4-2 Pittsburgh Penguins
2007 Anaheim Ducks 4-1 Ottawa Senators
2006 Carolina Hurricanes 4-3 Edmonton Oilers
2005 — (Lockout)
2004 Tampa Bay Lightning 4-3 Calgary Flames
2003 New Jersey Devils 4-3 Mighty Ducks of Anaheim
2002 Detroit Red Wings 4-1 Carolina Hurricanes
2001 Colorado Avalanche 4-3 New Jersey Devils
2000 New Jersey Devils 4-2 Dallas Stars
1999 Dallas Stars 4-2 Buffalo Sabres
1998 Detroit Red Wings 4-0 Washington Capitals
1997 Detroit Red Wings 4-0 Philadelphia Flyers
1996 Colorado Avalanche 4-0 Florida Panthers
1995 New Jersey Devils 4-0 Detroit Red Wings
1994 New York Rangers 4-3 Vancouver Canucks
1993 Montreal Canadiens 4-1 Los Angeles Kings
1992 Pittsburgh Penguins 4-0 Chicago Blackhawks
1991 Pittsburgh Penguins 4-2 Minnesota North Stars
1990 Edmonton Oilers 4-1 Boston Bruins
1989 Calgary Flames 4-2 Montreal Canadiens
1988 Edmonton Oilers 4-0 Boston Bruins
1987 Edmonton Oilers 4-3 Philadelphia Flyers
1986 Montreal Canadiens 4-1 Calgary Flames
1985 Edmonton Oilers 4-1 Philadelphia Flyers
1984 Edmonton Oilers 4-1 New York Islanders
1983 New York Islanders 4-0 Edmonton Oilers
1982 New York Islanders 4-0 Vancouver Canucks
1981 New York Islanders 4-1 Minnesota North Stars
1980 New York Islanders 4-1 Philadelphia Flyers
1979 Montreal Canadiens 4-1 New York Rangers
1978 Montreal Canadiens 4-2 Boston Bruins
1977 Montreal Canadiens 4-0 Boston Bruins
1976 Montreal Canadiens 4-0 Philadelphia Flyers
1975 Philadelphia Flyers 4-2 Buffalo Sabres
1974 Philadelphia Flyers 4-2 Boston Bruins
1973 Montreal Canadiens 4-2 Chicago Black Hawks
1972 Boston Bruins 4-2 New York Rangers
1971 Montreal Canadiens 4-3 Chicago Black Hawks
1970 Boston Bruins 4-0 St. Louis Blues
1969 Montreal Canadiens 4-0 St. Louis Blues
1968 Montreal Canadiens 4-0 St. Louis Blues
1967 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-2 Montreal Canadiens
1966 Montreal Canadiens 4-2 Detroit Red Wings
1965 Montreal Canadiens 4-3 Chicago Black Hawks
1964 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-3 Detroit Red Wings
1963 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-1 Detroit Red Wings
1962 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-2 Chicago Black Hawks
1961 Chicago Black Hawks 4-2 Detroit Red Wings
1960 Montreal Canadiens 4-0 Toronto Maple Leafs
1959 Montreal Canadiens 4-1 Toronto Maple Leafs
1958 Montreal Canadiens 4-2 Boston Bruins
1957 Montreal Canadiens 4-1 Boston Bruins
1956 Montreal Canadiens 4-1 Detroit Red Wings
1955 Detroit Red Wings 4-3 Montreal Canadiens
1954 Detroit Red Wings 4-3 Montreal Canadiens
1953 Montreal Canadiens 4-1 Boston Bruins
1952 Detroit Red Wings 4-0 Montreal Canadiens
1951 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-1 Montreal Canadiens
1950 Detroit Red Wings 4-3 New York Rangers
1949 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-0 Detroit Red Wings
1948 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-0 Detroit Red Wings
1947 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-2 Montreal Canadiens
1946 Montreal Canadiens 4-1 Boston Bruins
1945 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-3 Detroit Red Wings
1944 Montreal Canadiens 4-0 Chicago Black Hawks
1943 Detroit Red Wings 4-0 Boston Bruins
1942 Toronto Maple Leafs 4-3 Detroit Red Wings
1941 Boston Bruins 4-0 Detroit Red Wings
1940 New York Rangers 4-2 Toronto Maple Leafs
1939 Boston Bruins 4-1 Toronto Maple Leafs
1938 Chicago Black Hawks 3-1 Toronto Maple Leafs
1937 Detroit Red Wings 3-2 New York Rangers
1936 Detroit Red Wings 3-1 Toronto Maple Leafs
1935 Montreal Maroons 3-0 Toronto Maple Leafs
1934 Chicago Black Hawks 3-1 Detroit Red Wings
1933 New York Rangers 3-1 Toronto Maple Leafs
1932 Toronto Maple Leafs 3-0 New York Rangers
1931 Montreal Canadiens 3-2 Chicago Black Hawks
1930 Montreal Canadiens 2-0 Boston Bruins
1929 Boston Bruins 2-0 New York Rangers
1928 New York Rangers 3-2 Montreal Maroons
1927 Ottawa Senators 2-0 Boston Bruins