South Korean Foreign Minister Park Jin on a 2-day official visit to India

The Foreign Affairs Minister of South Korea is on a two-day visit to the country to further the ‘Special Strategic Partnership’.

The South Korean Minister of Foreign Affairs, Park Jin, is now in India for a visit that will last for two days beginning on Friday. By way of this visit, both nations want to further the Special Strategic Partnership that they have been working towards.

In Delhi, beginning on Friday evening, Jin will engage in an in-depth conversation with S. Jaishankar, who serves as India’s Minister of Foreign Affairs. Jin is planning to go to Chennai on Saturday. The Foreign Minister will also be meeting with Vice President Jagdeep Dhankar.


“The upcoming meeting is the first one between the two ministers as they mark the 50th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between Korea and India this year,” a spokesperson from the South Korean foreign ministry said. “During the meeting, the two sides will discuss ways to make substantive progress in the Special Strategic Partnership between Korea and India,” the spokesperson continued. “India is a key country in the region that shares values with Korea.”

The Republic of Korea acknowledges the significance of bilateral cooperation and the contribution it makes to bringing peace, stability, and security to the Asia Pacific Area. India views the Republic of Korea (ROK) as a key component of its “Act East Policy.”

While the then-President of South Korea, Park Geun-Hye, was on a state visit to India in January 2014, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President Park Geun-Hye came to the conclusion that their bilateral relationship should be upgraded to that of a “Special Strategic Partnership.” This decision was made after the two leaders held substantive discussions in areas of mutual interest.

The India and Republic of Korea Joint Declaration for Special Strategic Partnership included an agreement between the two countries to have yearly Joint Commissions that would be chaired by the two countries respective Foreign Ministers.