Pushkar Singh Dhami to again serve as CM of Uttarakhand

Pushkar Singh Dhami, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, and Trivendra Singh Rawat were competing for the position of chief minister in Uttarakhand.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami to remain in office as the CM for the second term. The BJP members were sworn in today in the Uttarakhand Assembly in the state capital. The saffron party made history when it stormed back to power in the hill state for the first time in an unprecedented second consecutive term.

Despite his loss in the election, Dhami was considered the favourite for the top position. The BJP leadership is anticipated to re-appoint Dhami as Uttarakhand CM due to his ‘sincere’ image and his contribution to the party’s unity. He is said to have done a great job despite the BJP being on the defensive after changing two chief ministers since it took office in 2017.


According to reports, Dhami pulled everyone along with him and had only six months to plan for the Uttarakhand election in 2022. The upper brass of the party believes he should be given more time to lead.

The legislature party meeting of the BJP would be conducted today to pick the leader of the House. The decision to call the MLA meeting came after state BJP leaders, including Pushkar Singh Dhami, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, and Trivendra Singh Rawat, among others, met with the party’s central leadership at Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s house.

Uttarakhand BJP chief Madan Kaushik stated that party president JP Nadda and general secretary (organization) BL Santhosh were also present during the over-an-hour meeting. The BJP has selected Defence Minister Rajnath Singh as an observer for the formation of a government in Uttarakhand.

Notably, Dhami, who led the BJP’s winning campaign in the just ended Uttarakhand election of 2022, was defeated by the Khatami Assembly seat.