Congress’s ‘claws’ stopped BRS’s ‘car’ in Telangana, CM KCR missed making a hat-trick

Counting of votes for Telangana Assembly Elections 2023 has started at 8 am today. As per the trends so far, Congress seems to be gaining majority here leaving BRS behind with a huge majority. Here Congress seems to be getting 64 seats and BRS is getting 42 seats, while BJP is getting only 6 seats. Voting was held for 119 seats in Telangana on 30 November.

During the ongoing vote counting in Telangana, Congress is overtaking the ruling BRS in Telangana and is leading on 63 seats. Whereas, K. Chandrashekhar Rao’s party Bharat Rashtra Samiti is ahead on 41 seats. Even the Chief Minister. Chandrashekhar Rao is trailing behind Congress state president Revanti Reddy in Kamareddy seat. He contested elections from two seats.

BJP and AIMIM are leading on 7 and 3 seats respectively. The latest data from the Election Commission of India shows that CPI is leading in the constituency from where it was contesting. In the outgoing assembly, BRS has 101 members, AIMIM 7, Congress 5, BJP 3. All India Forward Bloc has one MLA. One is independent while one post is vacant.


The simple majority figure to form the government in this southern state is 60 seats. Chandrashekhar Rao-led Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) has been in power since 2014, when Telangana was granted statehood, and had also won the 2018 elections and was hoping for a hat-trick. The Congress had launched a spirited election campaign aimed at ousting the nearly decade-old ruling party from power, while the BJP had also launched a no-holds-barred attack against the ruling government.

Veteran faces

K Chandrasekhar Rao: Incumbent CM and BRS candidate K Chandrasekhar Rao is leading from Gajwel seat. He is trailing Congress’s Revanth Reddy in his other seat, Kamareddy.

KCR’ Son & Minister KT Rama Rao is leading from Sircilla seat

Congress state president Revanth Reddy is leading from both Kamareddy and Kodangal seats.

Former Indian cricket team captain Mohammad Azharuddin is trailing from Jubilee Hills seat.

Former BJP state president Bandi Sanjay Kumar is trailing from Karimnagar.

MP Arvind Dharmapuri is leading from Kortal seat. MP Soyam Bapu Rao is trailing from Both seat

MLA T Raja Singh is leading from Goshamahal.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi is leading from Chandrayangutta.