PM Modi congratulates the Maharashtra Cabinet

The 18 Maharashtra Cabinet ministers who took the oath of office today have been congratulated by PM Narendra Modi.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked each of the 18 new ministers who took the oath of office on Tuesday as the month-old Maharashtra government extended its cabinet.

In a tweet, the Prime Minister said, “Congratulations to all those who took oath as Ministers in the Maharashtra Government today. This team is a great blend of administrative experience and the passion to deliver good governance. My best wishes to them for serving the people of the state.”

The congratulations from the PM follow the swearing-in of 18 new ministers to the cabinet earlier in the day. The newly elected Maharashtra government expanded its new cabinet over the course of roughly 40 days. At the Raj Bhavan, all of the ministers took their oaths in front of Deputy CM Devendra Fadnavis and Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

The remaining 17 ministers, with the exception of one who was sworn in for the first time, were all former members of the Maharashtra administration. Other parties criticised the enlargement for failing to name any female ministers to the cabinet. There are nine ministers from the BJP and the Shiv Sena breakaway group respectively, marking equal representation in the government.