Ayushmann Khurrana casts vote in Chandigarh; champions voter participation

In the final phase of the Lok Sabha elections, actor and singer Ayushmann Khurrana made headlines by exercising his democratic right to vote in his hometown of Chandigarh, Punjab. Known for his roots in Chandigarh, Ayushmann traveled from Mumbai specifically to cast his vote, underscoring the critical importance of voter participation in the electoral process.

Ayushmann cast his vote at DAV School, Sector 8 in Chandigarh, a notable event captured alongside former mayor Anup Gupta. Following his civic duty, Ayushmann passionately spoke about the significance of voting, particularly highlighting the low voter turnout in Mumbai. He emphasized, “We don’t have a right to complain if we don’t vote,” advocating for active involvement in shaping the nation’s future.


In a video, Ayushmann is seen saying, “I have come here especially from Mumbai to cast my vote. It feels very good. I want to appeal to all to cast their vote to form the government of their choice.” He further added, “For the next five years, you will not have any right to complain if you don’t vote.”

Ayushmann’s efforts are part of a broader initiative by the Election Commission of India (ECI) to encourage young voters to participate in the Lok Sabha elections. Earlier, he expressed his strong belief in the importance of electoral participation, sharing, “We must all contribute in choosing the leaders who would represent us in the Parliament for the next five years, thus participating in nation-building.”

On the professional front, Ayushmann is set to star alongside actress Sara Ali Khan in an upcoming action comedy produced by Karan Johar and Guneet Monga. Directed by Aakash Kaushik, this project marks Ayushmann’s debut collaboration with Karan Johar.

The final phase of the Lok Sabha elections covered 57 constituencies across seven states and the Union territory of Chandigarh, including Varanasi, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi was contesting for a third consecutive term. This phase also included all 13 seats in Punjab, four in Himachal Pradesh, 13 in Uttar Pradesh, nine in West Bengal, eight in Bihar, six in Odisha, and three in Jharkhand.