Vijay Hazare Trophy: Karnataka, Mumbai qualify for quarter-finals, Tamil Nadu knocked out


The group stage of 2020-2021 Vijay Hazare Trophy has almost come to an end on Monday with Gujarat, Andhra, Karnataka, Mumbai and Saurashtra qualifying for the quarterfinals.

Andhra was one of the four teams to enter the last eight from Group B with 12 points and having a superior net run rate (0.732) over Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh.

The five teams were joined by Uttar Pradesh and Kerala as the two teams finished with the most points and best net run rate of the Group teams.

The final spot for the top eight was still up for grabs with the winner of the match between Uttarakhand and Delhi qualifying for the quarter-finals. Owing to a high run rate, Uttarakhand pipped Assam to earn a spot for the pre-quarterfinals.

The table-toppers from each elite group would make it into the quarter-finals in this year’s edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

While Gujarat and Maharashtra are the two unbeaten teams in their respective group stage with 20 points, Andhra (12 points), Karnataka (16 points), Uttar Pradesh and Kerala (16 points). Baroda narrowly missed out as their NRR was marginally less than that of Delhi.

The final spot for the top eight would be decided after Delhi who finished second in Elite Group D take on Plate Group table-toppers Uttarakhand. The group stage of the tournament was held across multiple cities, but all four quarter-finals are to take place in Arun Jaitley Stadium and the Palam Ground, Delhi.

The knock-out matches will start from March 7, with the pre-quarterfinals between Delhi and Uttarakhand.