Rohit Sharma to lead the team in the T20I series against New Zealand

Keeping in mind the hectic bubble life of Indian players in the past few months, BCCI has decided to rest several Key players.

Rohit Sharma is named as the new captain of the Indian squad in the T20I series against New Zealand. While he will have a deputy in the form of KL Rahul, his opening partner, he will also have to deal with several absentees. The current Indian team has been out in the middle since mid-may. Image w Zealand. The rested players include the likes of Virat Kohli, Bumrah, Jadeja, Shami, Pandya, Thakur, Rahul Chahar, and Chakravarthy.

Several senior players are making their comeback to the team too. Players like Chahal, Siraj, Deepak Chahar, and Mohammad Siraj, who were not a part of the T20 World Cup squad of 16, will be returning. Along with them, several youngsters are given a chance based on their performances in the IPL. Ruturaj Gaikwad, who earlier made his India debut in the Sri Lanka series, alongside Avesh Khan and Harshal Patel, who were a part of the Indian bubble in the world cup, is also included in the squad.


The series comprises of 3 T20Is starting from November 17th. The two teams will play their first match of the series in Jaipur. While the second T20I, which is on November 19th, is scheduled to be played at Ranchi, and the third and final match of the series will be held in Kolkata on November 21st. Following this, the two teams will lock horns in two test matches as well.