NZ vs BAN 2021 – Ajaz left out, New Zealand named Tom Latham captain for Test series

New Zealand spinner Ajaz Patel will miss the upcoming series against Bangladesh. Patel has bagged 10 Wickets in an innings against India.

NZ vs BAN 2021 – New Zealand has sidelined Ajaz Patel for the upcoming series against Bangladesh. The test series commence on January 1st at Bay Oval and the second test at Hagley Oval on January 9.

Earlier Kane Williamson has already ruled out of the series due to an elbow injury. According to the latest reports, chances are Kane Williamson also skipped the tour of Australia after the Bangladesh series. The New Zealand Cricket Board has chosen Tom Latham as the captain for the series. But the cricket board recently surprised everyone by dropping Ajaz Patel, who took 10 wickets in an innings.


Ajaz Patel is the third bowler after the great Anil Kumble and England bowler Jim Laker to take 10 wickets in an innings. In the recent Test match against India in Mumbai, Ajaz Patel took all ten wickets of the team including that of Virat Kohli.

“People will feel bad for Ajaz Patel after India’s brilliant bowling performance,” Head highlighted.

“New  Zealand’s selection policy is very clear. We have always supported our best players and the series against Bangladesh, hosts have best players,” Gary Stead

New Zealand has roped in quality fast bowlers to include Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, and Kyle Jamieson in the squad. While Rachin Ravindra and Daryl Mitchell benefitted the spin department. Devon Conway, who scored a double century in his debut Test, makes a place in the team after injury. Earlier New Zealand has won the WTC finals and has been undefeated in the last eight home series.

New Zealand Test squad

Tom Latham (captain), Devon Conway, Will Young, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell, Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult.