In a dramatic moment during the India vs Pakistan ICC Women’s World Cup 2025 clash in Colombo, opener Muneeba Ali was controversially ruled run out after what initially appeared to be a safe return to her crease.

The incident occurred when Kranti Gaud delivered a full ball that hit Muneeba on the pads. India went up for a loud LBW appeal, but as confusion ensued, Deepti Sharma’s direct hit caught Muneeba seemingly unaware. The third umpire was called in, and replays revealed a fine margin — Muneeba had made her ground but momentarily lifted her bat when the ball hit the stumps.

After a lengthy review, the third umpire ruled her out, triggering frustration from the Pakistan camp and a conversation between captain Fatima Sana and the fourth umpire.

Why was Muneeba Ali given out?

According to Law 30.1.1 of the MCC Laws of Cricket, a batter is out of her ground unless part of her bat or body is grounded behind the popping crease.

However, Law 30.1.2 provides an exception — if the batter has already run or dived into the crease and then loses contact, she is still considered safe.

In this case, Muneeba wasn’t running or diving; she was stationary after settling into her stance. Since her bat was in the air when the ball struck the stumps, she was technically out of her ground — and therefore, out.

Interestingly, replays later showed that the ball would have hit the stumps had India reviewed for LBW, meaning she could have been out either way.

The dismissal sparked immediate debate, with several experts calling it “unlucky but correct by the laws” — a rare situation where the technical interpretation of cricket’s laws outweighed the spirit of the game.

TOPICS: Top Stories