Ind vs SA: India win the toss and opt to bat first

Captain KL Rahul won the toss and chose to bat first as India eye victory in the second ODI.

KL Rahul called heads and won the toss, choosing to bat first. The surface looks too good to bat first as the host’s captain Bavuma too wanted to win the toss and bat first. Bavuma seems to take early wickets yet again targeting to take out the openers with its surprise bowler Aiden Markram. KL Rahul might hope to score runs as the leading captain struggled to score in the first ODI.

Indians might have probably changed their 11, giving chance to the benched players as Suryakumar and Ruturaj await their call. The bowling unit was a question in the first ODI and the squad includes Siraj, Chahar too. But skipper Rahul seems to think of not changing the squad as Venkatesh Iyer’s debut failure shall give him another chance to perform. Rishabh is set to be the key wicket-keeper and is hard to get replaced. While the top orders remain unchanged with Kohli and Dhawan performing and Rahul leading the team. Playing at the same venue, both the spinners might get yet another chance.

XI for team India: KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

South Africa goes with the same XI except for the debutant Marco Jansen is asked to rest and is replaced by Sisanda Magala. Bowling first, Bavuma might yet again give the ball to the surprise part-time bowler – Aiden Markram.

South Africa’s Playing XI: Quinton de Kock(w), Janneman Malan, Temba Bavuma(c), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Sisanda Magala, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time