"If it was Steve Smith in place of Shubman Gill, umpire would have given this as Not Out," Ravi Shastri on Green's controversial catch | Business Upturn

“If it was Steve Smith in place of Shubman Gill, umpire would have given this as Not Out,” Ravi Shastri on Green’s controversial catch

The dismissal of Shubman Gill during the final innings of the World Test Championship (WTC) Final against Australia sparked controversy due to a contentious catch off the bowling of Scott Boland. After Gill edged the ball, it flew towards Cameron Green in the slip cordon, where the all-rounder stretched his arm to grab it.

However, the decision was referred to the third umpire, who, after multiple reviews, ruled Gill out. Both Gill and captain Rohit Sharma expressed their dissatisfaction with the decision. The controversy stemmed from the fact that it was evident to everyone present that the ball had touched the ground.

Advertisement

During the live commentary, Ravi Shastri, the former India head coach, made a tongue-in-cheek remark, suggesting a bias from the third umpire. Shastri insinuated that if Steve Smith had been the player involved, the third umpire would have given a “not out” decision.

Here’s what Ravi Shastri said:

“If it was Steve Smith in place of Shubman Gill, Umpire would have given this as Not Out.”