ICC announced to award same points for each match won in the second WTC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) will award standardised 12 points for every match won in the second World Test Championship (WTC) cycle which kicks off with five-match series between India and England in August. If the match ends in a draw both teams will get four points and six points if it is a tie. ICC Interim CEO Geoff Allardice first declared in a media interaction earlier this month that there would be changes to the points system.

An ICC member told PTI, “Instead of each series is worth the same number of points, 120, irrespective of whether the series is played over two Tests or five Tests, the next cycle will see each match being worth the same number of points along with a maximum of 12 per match.” The board member added, “The target was to try and simplify the points system and to allow teams to be meaningfully compared on the table at any point, though they may have played differing numbers of matches and series.”


The nine Test teams will play a total of six series: three series at home and three away from home. During the previous edition, the value for each series was 120 points where a two-match India-Bangladesh series had 60 points for a win while a four-match India-Australia Test series had 30 points for a victory. So the ICC decided to award the same points for each match won during the second World Test Championship.