Shashi Tharoor, Rajdeep Sardesai and others face sedition charges over Republic day violence

The Noida Police has booked Congress MP Shashi Tharoor and six journalists under the charges of sedition among other charges over the violence that happened on January 26 at the Red Fort in Delhi.

The FIR was lodged at Sector 20 police station following a complaint by a resident who alleged that “digital broadcast” and “social media posts” by these people were responsible for inciting violence during the tractor rally by farmers in the National Capital.

The journalists named in the FIR are Mrinal Pande, Rajdeep Sardesai, Vinod Jose, Zafar Agha, Paresh Nath and Anant Nath. An unidentified person has also been named in the FIR.

A senior Noida Police officer confirmed to PTI about the lodging an FIR. The official has also said that the investigation has already begun in this matter.

The FIR has been lodged under Indian Penal Code sections 124A (sedition), 295A (deliberate and malicious acts, intended to outrage religious feelings of any class by insulting its religion or religious beliefs), 504 (intentional insult with intent to provoke breach of the peace), 506 (criminal intimidation), 34 (Acts done by several persons in furtherance of common intention), 120B (criminal conspiracy), among others. They have also been booked under relevant provisions of the Information Technology Act.

On January 26, thousands of protesting farmers had clashed with the police during the tractor rally called by farmer unions to highlight their demand for the repeal of the Centre’s three farm laws. Many of the protesters, driving tractors, reached the Red Fort and entered the monument. Some protesters even hoisted religious flags on its domes and the flagstaff at the ramparts, where the national flag is unfurled by the Prime Minister on Independence Day.