Narendra Modi becomes longest serving non congress PM; 4th longest serving overall

NEW DELHI: Narendra Modi has become the longest serving non-Congress prime minister and the fourth longest serving overall, the party noted on Thursday.

“Today, PM Narendra Modi becomes the fourth longest serving PM in the history of India! He now also holds the distinction of being the longest serving non-Congress PM. Vajpayee ji served for 2,268 days, with all his terms put together. Today PM Modi has surpassed that duration,” BJP IT department in-charge Amit Malviya tweeted


India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru was at the top in the list who served for total 6130 days. His daughter Indira Gandhi was second in the list who served for 5829 days in the office.

Congress’ Manmohan Singh became third who was ousted by Narendra Modi in 2014.

Earlier in the day, PM Modi had launched the platform for “Transparent Taxation – Honoring the Honest” via video conferencing.

The platform, which has been launched to honour the honest taxpayers of the country, will bring transparency in income tax systems and empowering taxpayers, according to the government.

In a tweet earlier in the day, PM Modi said the initiative will strengthen the Government’s efforts of reforming and simplifying the tax system and will benefit several honest taxpayers, whose hard work powers national progress.