Floor Test cancelled; Who is next in line for Maharashtra CM post?

Former CM Thackeray resigned yesterday, and the government has a lot of tough questions and yet the biggest one remaining is who will be the Next CM?

As the Maharashtra political crisis has entered its 11th day and the end is seemingly near, questions have arisen in the minds of the people. With Uddhav Thackeray resigning as the Chief Minister of the state the senior leadership of Shiv Sena is evaluating their next steps in these times of uncertainty.

As per reports, Maharashtra Assembly Secretary Rajendra Bhagwat on Thursday, June 30 2022 has informed all state MLAs that on the governor’s instruction, “there’s no need for a floor test now, so today’s special session will not be convened.” Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari had earlier made it clear that the special session on June 30 will be conducted at 11 A.M. for assessing the “trust vote against the Chief Minister”. But CM Thackeray’s resignation late last night has made the floor test redundant at this moment in time.


“I have no regrets in leaving the chief minister’s chair. Whatever I did, I did for the Marathi people and Hindutva. Today, in front of everyone, I am announcing my resignation as chief minister of the state,” said Udhhav Thackeray in the wake of the Supreme Court to stay on Governor Koshyari’s decision to take a floor test in the government.

Who is the next CM?

Since CM’s resignation things have started to spiral in the state. Devendra Fadnavis, Leader of Opposition of the BJP might be the single biggest contender. For the top post in the state. It is expected that he will form the new government in the state for the third term as the Chief Minister. While on the other hand Eknath Shinde, a rebel leader might become the Deputy Chief Minister as reported by TOI. Meanwhile, CM Thackeray would act as the acting CM till the next CM is elected and the new government is formed.

In a very recent update received Eknath Shinde has concluded his high-level meeting with the rebel Sena MLA following which he will leave for Mumbai for a meeting with the Governor to discuss the next steps and to form the new government. About who and how many cabinet posts would be available, there hasn’t been any talk with the BJP; it will happen shortly. Please disregard the ministerial lists and speculations regarding it till then: Eknath Shinde, Rebel Shiv Sena leader confirms.

CM will be chosen

As of this time, a meeting of the BJP core committee is underway at the Sagar Bungalow. Which is the residence of former CM Devendra Fadnavis. Dignitaries such as the Maharashtra BJP in-charge CT Ravi, Girish Mahajan, and Chandrakanth Patil are present at the meeting.

In this regard, BJP leader Girish Mahajan has mentioned the BJP has successfully secured the support of 170 MLAs. And that Leader of Opposition Fadnavis has already started the formalities. But it may take two or three days to form the new government, party sources say. The Maharashtra Assembly has a total of 287 members – 106 BJP. And MVA has 181 seats which include Sena(55), NCP(52), and Congress(44). For BJP to form the government, it needs a total of 144 seats in the Assembly.

Further updates on the matter are awaited.