Nitish Kumar takes oath as Chief Minister of Bihar | Business Upturn

Nitish Kumar takes oath as Chief Minister of Bihar

Nitish Kumar has taken oath as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the seventh term today. Fourteen other ministers will now swear in beside him to the assembly. BJP’s Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi will swear-in as his deputies and will be among those who will take oath today at the event which will be attended by Home Minister Amit Shah.

Nitish Kumar on Sunday had announced that the oath-taking, as well as the swearing-in ceremony of the new cabinet to the Bihar assembly, will be held at around 4.30 pm on Monday after he met Governor Phagu Chauhan to stake claim to form NDA government in Bihar.


The NDA legislature party’s leaders who have secured a slim victory in the Bihar Assembly Election had met on Sunday to deliberate upon selecting a leader to lead the party. Nitish Kumar was suggested as the leader of the NDA legislature party thus announcing his return as the chief minister for the seventh term.

BJP’s Tarkishore Prasad from Bihar’s Katihar will replace Sushil Modi as his deputy. NDA, from the beginning of the election campaign, had hinted that Nitish Kumar will be running for the Chief Ministerial candidate for the NDA government in the state. The NDA won the state’s assembly elections last week with a slim majority and secured 125 of Bihar’s 243 assembly seats, just three above the halfway mark.