JD(U)- RJD led Mahagathbandhan to form government tomorrow | Business Upturn

JD(U)- RJD led Mahagathbandhan to form government tomorrow

Nitish Kumar submits the list to the Bihar governor and stakes a claim to form a new government with the support of 164 MLAs. Oath to be taken on Wednesday at 4 pm.

Nitish Kumar, who resigned as Bihar Chief Minister on Tuesday, said he had submitted a list of 164 MLAs to the Bihar Governor and staked his claim to form a new government.

On Tuesday, Nitish Kumar called off the JD(U)-BJP alliance in Bihar and resigned as the state’s chief minister. Nitish Kumar met with Tejashwi Yadav after resigning as CM, and they together met Governor Phagu Chauhan once again and staked claim to form a new government.


The JD(U)-RJD-led ‘Mahagathbandhan’ (grand alliance) will take the oath of office on Wednesday at 4 p.m. Nitish has already been elected as the leader of the Mahagathbandhan, a coalition of seven parties. The state Assembly’s effective strength is 242, and the magic figure is 122.

Former Union minister RCP Singh, who left the JD(U) after a tussle with Nitish Kumar, said the party’s split with the BJP and alliance with Tejashwi Yadav is a betrayal of the 2020 mandate.

Meanwhile, BJP Bihar called for a core group meeting, after JD(U) and RJD tied hands with each other to form the new alliance.

Kumar’s decision, which was a reversal of what happened in 2017 when he left the Mahagathbandhan to rejoin the NDA, left ally BJP out in the cold for the second time in eight years. Sanjay Jaiswal, president of the BJP’s state unit, accused Nitish Kumar of betraying the people of Bihar and the BJP on Tuesday. “We fought the 2020 polls together under NDA, the mandate was for JD-U and BJP, we won more seats despite that, Nitish Kumar was made the CM,” Jaiswal said. Whatever happened today is a betrayal of Bihar’s people and the BJP.”