International Solar Alliance announces ISA Solar Awards for the year 2020

International Solar Alliance (ISA)
Press Release

International Solar Alliance announces ISA Solar Awards for the year 2020


• International Solar Alliance (ISA) announces Solar Awards to honor efforts being made in the field of R&D, innovative floating solar projects and adoption of solar energy by organizations to enhance sustainability.

• Haryana and Karnataka, two of the solar energy champion provinces in India institute awards in collaboration with ISA; Diwakar award instituted by Union Minister, GoI, Mr. Piyush Goyal.

• Ms Rachel Kyte, Dean, Fletcher School, Tufts University, to chair the International Awards Committee of the ISA.

Mumbai, 23rd September 2020: The International Solar Alliance (ISA) has institutionalized ISA Solar Awards with its Award Partners to recognize distinguished entities, both individuals (scientists, engineers and technologists) and agencies from ISA member countries for their outstanding contribution in providing affordable, reliable and scalable solar energy solutions.
The ISA Solar Awards will promote ISA’s agenda of addressing the energy access needs and energy security issues in a green and clean manner by facilitating massive deployment of solar technology at an affordable cost. This activity will enhance the participation of individuals, institutions and agencies working in solar sector in ISA member countries. The objective of institutionalising these awards is to encourage, inspire and activate the global solar ecosystem.
The details of ISA awards, like eligibility criteria, application process along with the important dates is available on ISA website:
The applications will be shortlisted by a screening committee constituted under the aegis of ISA and its award partners, followed by final evaluation and selection by International Awards Committee, comprising of high- level dignitaries and leaders from the renewable energy sector. Ms. Rachel Kyte, Dean, The Fletcher School, Tufts University will Chair the International Awards Committee.

ISA Solar Awards for the year 2020 will showcase excellence in the field of solar energy under 3 award categories:

1. Outstanding contribution by Scientists, Engineers & Technologists in the field of solar energy
ISA Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award
No of Awards to be given: 1
Award Money to be given: 66,099 USD
The Government of Haryana, India has institutionalised the ISA Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award to encourage increased participation of scientists, engineers and technologist who are actively involved in innovation, R&D, development and deployment of path-breaking technologies in the field of solar energy. Only one award will be given under this category.

2. Most Innovative floating solar projects in ISA member countries
ISA Karnataka Visvesvaraya Solar Award
No of Awards to be given: 4 (1 in each region)
Total Award Money to be given: 50, 279 USD
The Government of Karnataka, India has set up the ISA Karnataka Visvesvaraya Solar Award to recognize the proactive role played by Governments of member countries in ISA’s four regions in areas of promotion of floating solar technology projects in each of the four regions of the ISA.

3. Maximizing Solar Energy Adoption by Organizations in the Host country, working with differently abled children
ISA Diwakar Solar Award
No of Awards to be given:1
Award Money to be given: 94,315 INR
The ISA Diwakar Solar Award has been established with the gracious support of Shri. Piyush Goyal, Hon’ble Minister of Commerce and Industry and Minister of Railways, Government of India. Shri Piyush Goyal donated the monetary component of the Carnot prize, that had been conferred upon him by Kleinman Center for Energy Policy at the University of Pennsylvania, for his work in sustainable energy solutions in 2019. This award will be presented to the organizations in the Host Country of the ISA who work for children with special needs, and that have adopted solar energy to encourage sustainability for an inclusive society.

4. Maximum deployment of Solar Water Pumps in ISA member countries.
ISA Madhya Pradesh Acharya Vinoba Bhave International Solar Pump Award
No of Awards to be given: 4
To be operationalised from 2021
The government of Madhya Pradesh has institutionalised ISA Madhya Pradesh Vinoba Bhave solar award to recognize the proactive role played by Governments of member countries in the area of promotion of solar pumps in each of the four regions of the ISA. This award will be operational from the year 2021.

“The world is at a critical juncture now and is staring at an uncertain future in terms of energy production. All nations need to come together and formulate a mechanism to address energy needs through clean & sustainable methods like Solar. Combined efforts by the nations will form the pillar of a successful solar revolution. The ISA awards are an opportunity to recognize the brilliant minds who are not only doing exemplary work in the field of Solar Energy, but also set an example and inspire other individuals, institutions and nations to follow” said Shri Upendra Tripathy, Director General, International Solar Alliance (ISA).
The awards along with the cheque of reward money will be presented to the selected entries during the 3rd Assembly of the ISA slated to be hosted on a virtual platform on 14 October 2020.

About ISA:
The International Solar Alliance (ISA) is a treaty-based international intergovernmental organization. ISA was launched by India and France on November 30, 2015 on the side lines of the Conference of Parties (COP) 21, of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change. The Paris Declaration establishes ISA as an alliance dedicated to the promotion of solar energy among its Member Countries. The major objectives of the organization include deployment of 1000 GW of solar capacity and mobilization of US$ 1000 billion of investment in solar energy sector by 2030. As an action-oriented organization, ISA intends to bring together member countries to aggregate demand and realize economies of scale, resulting in reduction of costs of solar applications, facilitating deployment of existing solar technologies at scale, and promoting collaborative solar R&D and capacity. As on June 26 2020, the ISA Framework Agreement has been signed by 86 countries, with 67 having also deposited instruments of ratification. The ISA is headquartered at Gurugram in Haryana, India. H.E. Mr. Upendra Tripathy is the Director General.