Oscars 2024: How to watch the award ceremony and who is nominated

The biggest night in the entertainment calendar is finally upon us – the 96th Oscars.

Christopher Nolan’s Oppenheimer, which has bagged 13 nominations, is expected to sweep up at the ceremony. Many of the film fans will also be cheering for Barbie, which has emerged as biggest box office hit for the previous year, and has gained eight nods.

Advertisement

U.S. television host Jimmy Kimmel will be presenting the awards from Los Angeles, with the show starting at 16.00 (PT), 19.00 (ET) and midnight (GMT).

Which films are in the running at Oscars 2024?

Oppenheimer, by Christopher Nolan, which is based on the life of the man who developed the atomic bomb, is leading the charge with 13 nominations, including Best Actor (Cillian Murphy), Best Actress (Emily Blunt), and also Best Picture.

The current record for most wins is being held by Titanic, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, and Ben Hur with 11 wins, so could Oppenheimer match it or even do better?

Following Oppenheimer, Yorgos Lanthimos’ Poor Things has secured 11 nominations. It stars Emma Stone, who is the frontrunner in the best actress race alongside Lily Gladstone from Martin Scorsese’s Killer of the Flower Moon.

Scorsese’s movie has bagged 10 nominations and it is about the murder of members of Osage Indian tribe by white settlers who are after their oil.

Barbie landed eight nominations in total, with America Ferrara and Ryan Gosling being nominated for Best Supporting Actress and Best Supporting Actor, respectively.