India’s 24-member athletics team for the Paralympic Games in Tokyo has been announced

The Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) announced a 24-member athletics team for the Tokyo Paralympics, which begins August 24. The team includes star javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia and high jumper Mariyappan Thangavelu.

Other great para-athletes include world record holders Sandeep Chowdhury and Sumeet, who won gold in the F46 javelin and T-42 high jump events, respectively, at the 2016 Rio Paralympics.


The team was decided by the PCI selection committee during a two-day trial on June 29 and 30 at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi. Deepa Malik, the CEO of the PCI, presided over the selection meeting. The World Para Athletics has awarded India 24 spots, including four women athletes.

The committee also chose Ranjeet Bhati, a men’s F-57 javelin thrower who was not on the long list of athletes for accreditation due to his poor ranking before the trial. “However, he considerably improved his performance in the Final Selection Trial and is rated 5th as of 01.07.2021, according to the MES Ranking,” the PCI said.

“His selection is subjected to the issuance of the accreditation for the upcoming Tokyo Paralympics 2020.” Sandip Sanjay Sargar (javelin F-64) was nominated as a reserve athlete by the committee

The Team includes :

Men: Devendra Jhajharia, Ajeet Singh and Sundar Singh Gurjar (all javelin F-46), Sandeep Chaudhary and Sumit (both javelin F-64), Mariyappan Thangavelu, Sharad Kumar and Varun Singh Bhatti (all high jump T-63), Amit Kumar and Dharambir (both club throw F-51), Nishad Kumar and Ram Pal (both high jump T-47), Sonam Rana (shot put F-57), Navdeep (javelin F-41), Praveen Kumar (high jump T-64), Yogesh Kathuniya (discus throw F-56), Vinod Kumar (discus throw F-56), Ranjeet Bhati (javelin F-57), Arvind (shot put F-35), Tek Chand (javelin F-54).

Women: Ekta Bryan and Kashish Lakra (both club throw F-51), Bhagyashri Jadhav (shot put F-34), Simran (100m T-13).

Reserve: Sandi Sanjay Sagar (men’s javelin F-64)