Recap to F1 qualifying results: Max Verstappen takes Canadian GP pole

The Canadian Grand Prix qualifying session kicked off with three segments, starting with Q1, where the top drivers vied for a chance to advance to the subsequent rounds. Max Verstappen of Red Bull Racing emerged as the fastest driver in the session, followed closely by Fernando Alonso of Aston Martin and Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes. While Verstappen set the early pace, Alonso briefly took the lead before Verstappen reclaimed the top spot. Meanwhile, five drivers failed to make it through Q1, including Yuki Tsunoda, Pierre Gasly, Nyck de Vries, Logan Sargeant, and Zhou Guanyu.

In the damp and drying conditions on intermediate tires, Max Verstappen wasted no time in asserting his dominance during Q1. Initially, he set the pace with a lap time of 1m21.988s, but he continued to push and improved to 1m21.739s in the closing minutes. However, Fernando Alonso showcased his skill by surpassing Verstappen, clocking an impressive time of 1m21.583s and then further lowering it to 1m21.481s. Nevertheless, Verstappen demonstrated his determination and ended Q1 on top with a rapid lap time of 1m20.851s.


Unfortunately, Q1 marked the end of the qualifying journey for five drivers. Yuki Tsunoda from AlphaTauri, Pierre Gasly from Alpine, Nyck de Vries from AlphaTauri, Logan Sargeant from Williams, and Zhou Guanyu faced disappointment as they failed to progress to Q2. Gasly, in particular, expressed frustration as he felt his last lap was hindered by Carlos Sainz, which resulted in his elimination.

Canadian Grand Prix qualifying results: Verstappen on pole

Cla Nº  Driver  Car / Engine  Time  Gap
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Honda RBPT 1’25.858
2 14  Fernando Alonso Aston Martin/Mercedes 1’27.286 1.428 1.663
3 44  Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1’27.627 1.769 2.060
4 63  George Russell Mercedes 1’27.893 2.035 2.370
5 27  Nico Hülkenberg Haas/Ferrari 1’27.102 1.244 1.449
3-place penalty for failing to stay above the minimum time set by the FIA ECU during a red flag
6 31  Esteban Ocon Alpine/Renault 1’27.945 2.087 2.431
7 Lando Norris McLaren/Mercedes 1’28.046 2.188 2.548
8 81  Oscar Piastri McLaren/Mercedes 1’31.349 5.491 6.395
9 23  Alexander Albon Williams/Mercedes
10 16  Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1’20.615 -5.243 -6.107
11 55  Carlos Sainz Jr. Ferrari 1’29.294 3.436 4.002
3-place penalty for impeding another driver
12 11  Sergio Pérez Red Bull/Honda RBPT 1’20.959 -4.899 -5.706
13 20  Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1’21.678 -4.180 -4.869
14 77  Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo/Ferrari 1’21.821 -4.037 -4.702
15 10  Pierre Gasly Alpine/Renault 1’22.886 -2.972 -3.462
16 18  Lance Stroll Aston Martin/Mercedes 1’21.484 -4.374 -5.094
3-place penalty for impeding another driver
17 21  Nyck de Vries AlphaTauri/Honda RBPT 1’23.137 -2.721 -3.169
18 Logan Sargeant Williams/Mercedes 1’23.337 -2.521 -2.936
19 22  Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri/Honda RBPT 1’22.746 -3.112 -3.625
3-place penalty for impeding another driver
20 24  Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo/Ferrari 1’23.342 -2.516 -2.930