Formula 1: Max Verstappen wins the Dutch GP to lead the Drivers’ Championship

Max Verstappen retakes the lead in the Drivers’ Standing from Lewis Hamilton after winning the Dutch Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen wins the Dutch Grand Prix and moves back into the lead of the drivers’ standing at Zandvoort. The seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton crossed the line to finish second followed by his Mercedes teammate, Valtteri Bottas to complete the podium standings. 

“To take the lead in the championship, it’s just an amazing day. The start was very important, we did that very well,” said Red Bulls Max Verstappen in the post-race interview.


Formula 1 returned to the Netherlands for the first time since 1985 where the late great Niki Lauda won the Dutch Grand Prix in a McLaren. The 36 year-long wait was very much appreciated by the fans who turned out in huge numbers to fill the circuit capacity. 

The 23-year-old lead the race from pole position while keeping Hamilton at bay for the entire race to secure his seventh win of the season. Verstappen’s teammate Checo Perez drove a super race to win driver of the day for starting from the pit lane due to a poor showing in qualifying to place at P6.

Red Bull considered all the possibilities and decided to change Checo’s power unit leading to a grid penalty. Checo showed great race craft and race pace to earn himself a P8 finish falling just behind the Spaniard Carlos Sainz in P7 and the former world champion Fernando Alonso who finished in P6. Alphatauri’s Pierre Gasly drove a brilliant race to take P4 ahead of Charles Leclerc’s Ferrari.