WTC Final 2023 Day 2 updates, IND vs AUS live score: India in peril after cheaply losing top order

WTC Day 2 Scorecard, The Field London: Indian batting’s top order surrendered in the face of a focused Australian bowling assault with the loss of Virat Kohli. Before dinner on Day 2 of the match, India lost both of their openers, skipper Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill, in consecutive overs. Shortly after the tea break, Cheteshwar Pujara too lost his wicket, scoring 14 runs for himself, as the Aussie pace trio of Pat Cummins, Scott Boland, and Cameron Green wrecked havoc at The Oval on Thursday. Australia scored a whopping 469 runs in their opening innings, while Mohd Siraj claimed 4 wickets.

After Steve Smith reached his ninth century as the second day of play at the World Test Championship Final got underway, India took the final seven Australian wickets on Day 2 to retake the lead in the game in the first two hours. Travis Head scored 163 runs off 174 deliveries in an almost astounding run-a-ball strike rate before being caught behind by Srikar Bharat off the bowling of Mohd Siraj. Steve Smith was dismissed for 121 runs by Shardul Thakur, who also claimed the wicket of Travis Head.


Earlier on Day 1: Australia staged a stunning comeback on the opening day of the World Test Championship as the pair helped their team go from 76 for 3 to 327 for 3 at stumps. As they amassed 251 unbroken runs for the fourth wicket, Head finished Day 1 undefeated on 146 runs, while Smith was nearly at his century at 95 not out. Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur struck early in the first session to help India get off to a strong start against Australia on Day 1 of the ICC WTC 2023 Final. In his second over, Siraj dismissed Usman Khawaja, the Australian opener, while Warner was bowled by Shardul. Right after lunch, Shami castled Labuschagne. Khawaja went to the pavilion without bothering the scorers, whereas Warner appeared to be a threat, with Umesh Yadav taking the brunt of his aggressiveness.

WTC 2023 Final India vs. Australia Scorecard for Day 2:

Australia 1st Innings 469-All Out (121.3 Overs) 
David Warner c Srikar Bharat b Thakur 43 (60)
Usman Khawaja c Srikar Bharat b Siraj 0 (10)
Marnus Labuschagne b Shami 26 (62)
Steven Smith b Thakur 121 (268)
Travis Head c Srikar Bharat b Siraj 163 (174)
Cameron Green c Shubman Gill b Shami
Alex Carey lbw b Jadeja 48 (69)
Mitchell Starc run out (sub) Axar 5 (20)
Pat Cummins c Rahane b Siraj 9 (34)
Nathan Lyon b Siraj 9 (25)
Scott Boland not out 1 (7)

India Bowling (Overs-Maidens-Runs-Wkts)
Mohammed Shami 29-4-122-2
Mohammed Siraj 28.3-4-108-4
Umesh Yadav 23-5-77-0
Shardul Thakur 23-4-83-2
Ravindra Jadeja 18-2-56-1

India 1st Innings 100 runs- 4 wkts (26 Overs)
Rohit Sharma lbw b Cummins 15 (26)
Shubman Gill b Boland 13 (15)
Pujara b Green 14 (25)
Kohli c Smith b Starc 14 (31)
Ajinkya Rahane 17 (37)
Ravindra Jadeja 20 (27)