Vijay Hazare Trophy: Mumbai defeat Uttar Pradesh to clinch 4th title


Mumbai captain Prithvi Shaw’s 73 off 39 balls followed by former skipper Aditya Tare’s unbeaten hundred led Mumbai to defeat Uttar Pradesh by six wickets to lift the Vijay Hazare trophy in one of the most lopsided finals on Sunday.

Riding on opener Madhav Kaushik’s unbeaten 158, Uttar Pradesh posted a competitive score of 312 for four in the finals against Mumbai.

This is Mumbai’s fourth Hazare title win and the one to remember for Shaw (827 runs), who now holds the record of the highest runs scored in a single edition of this competition.

Shaw hit ten fours and four sixes along with fellow opener Yashasvi Jaiswal who scored 29 runs by hitting three fours and a six giving the team a head start of 89 runs in 9. 1 overs.

After Shaw’s exit, Jaiswal and Tare added a 38-run partnership after which veteran Tare’s onslaught by scoring 18 boundaries.

Tare completed his century in 91 balls, his first in List A cricket and his partnership with 88 runs fourth-wicket partnership with Shivam Dube helped Mumbai cross the line with ease.

Earlier, the UP innings were taken care of by Madhav Kaushik who scored an unbeaten 158 by hammering 15 fours and four sixes in his 156- ball knock. Kaushik and Samarth Singh who scored 55 off 73 balls with four fours and three sixes added 122 runs for the first wicket to ensure UP scored big.

The only consolidation for Kaushik being that, now he is being the highest individual scorer in a National One Day Championship final, surpassing Mayank Agarwal’s 125 against Punjab in 2014.