Sri Lanka reveals their squad for the upcoming T20I series against Australia

Before the tour finishes on July 12, Sri Lanka and Australia will play five one-day internationals (ODIs) and two Test matches.


Sri Lanka Cricket has named an 18-man team for the three-match Twenty20 International series against Australia, which begins on June 7. Dasun Shanaka will keep his spot as captain, with Jeffrey Vandersay and Niroshan Dickwella as backups.

After the just concluded IPL season, the onus will be on Wanindu Hasaranga, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Maheesh Theeksana, and Dushmanta Chameera. After an excellent performance for Chennai Super Kings in this year’s IPL, Matheesha Pathirana was given his first call-up to this series (CSK).

Due to Covid-19, Hasaranga was unable to join in the India tour earlier this year, while Rajapaksa was dropped due to fitness concerns. He declared his retirement from international cricket earlier this year, but after discussing with SLC, he swiftly changed his mind.

The tour of Sri Lanka by Australia will begin on June 7. The Australians will first face the hosts in a three-match T20I series, which will be followed by a five-match ODI series, which will begin on June 14 and conclude on June 24.

Sri Lanka’s squad for the series:

Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time