South Africa picks a limited squad ahead of the Bangladesh’s series

Khaya Zondo was given his first Test call-up, he has represented South Africa in six One Day Internationals, but this is his first test call-up to give middle-order protection.

The 15-man team issued by CSA did not include players like Marco Jansen, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Kagiso Rabada, and Rassie van der Dussen. South Africa’s 2-1 series triumph over India, as well as the away series versus New Zealand, included Jansen, Markram, Ngidi, and Dussen. However, the five cricketers, as well as Quinton de Kock, Dwaine Pretorius, and David Miller, have IPL commitments, which conflict with Bangladesh Tests. The IPL 2022 begins on March 26, while the first Test between South Africa and Bangladesh is set to begin on March 31.


CSA has typically granted their players with NOCs to compete in the IPL and has not organised games at the same time, according to an agreement between the two bodies. With a larger IPL and a fall series against Bangladesh, this year is different.

From March 31 to April 4, the tests will be held in Kingsmead in Durban, and from April 8 to 12, at St George’s Park in Gqeberha, formerly known as Port Elizabeth.

Squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma, Daryn Dupavillon, Sarel Erwee, Simon Harmer, Keshav Maharaj, Wiaan Mulder, Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Glenton Stuurman, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo.