Shubman Gill fined and penalized for dismissal controversy in WTC Final | Business Upturn

Shubman Gill fined and penalized for dismissal controversy in WTC Final

Indian opener Shubman Gill has incurred a penalty for breaching Level 1 of the ICC Code of Conduct. Gill’s dismissal during India’s chase in the WTC final was surrounded by controversy, as the third umpire adjudged him out on a catch taken by Cameron Green. Expressing his discontent, Gill voiced his displeasure regarding the decision on his official Instagram account.

The ICC found Shubman Gill in violation of Article 2.7 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which prohibits “public criticism of, or inappropriate comment in relation to an incident occurring in an international match.” As a result, Gill has been fined 15 percent of his match fee. In addition, he has been issued one demerit point, which will remain on his disciplinary record.


During the game – 

Scott Boland managed to get an edge off Gill’s bat as the young opener lunged forward to a length delivery. The ball grazed the shoulder of Gill’s bat and flew towards the slip cordon. It was then that Cameron Green, positioned at gully, dived to his left and extended his left arm to complete the catch. While Green started celebrating, Gill remained unconvinced, suggesting that the catch might not have been clean. The on-field umpires conferred and referred the decision to the third umpire, Richard Kettleborough.

Though it was evident that Green had caught the ball cleanly in the air, controversy arose when TV replays displayed the all-rounder’s finger appearing to touch the ground during the catch. In certain angles, it seemed as though the ball might have touched the ground through Green’s fingers. Shubman Gill even shared an image of the catch on Instagram, highlighting the apparent contact with the ground.

Despite the conflicting visuals, the third umpire ultimately ruled Shubman Gill out, stating that he found Green’s fingers underneath the ball when they made contact with the ground. Gill was taken aback by the decision, and Rohit Sharma, visibly distraught, engaged in a discussion with the umpires, but the young opener had to accept his dismissal.