Ranji trophy final: Madhya Pradesh defeats Mumbai to win their maiden trophy

By chasing down 108 in the fourth innings for the loss of four wickets, Madhya Pradesh outlasted 41-time champions Mumbai to win the trophy.


The Madhya Pradesh team led by Aditya Shrivastava, created history on Sunday. The team defeated 41-time winners Mumbai by 6 wickets at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium to win the Ranji Trophy for the first time ever. Mumbai failed to take home the Ranji Trophy in 2022 despite fielding a star-studded lineup.

Himanshu Mantri,  wicketkeeper-batsman, led the way with 37 while Shubham Sharma added 30 in the effort to reach the 108-run mark. Rajat Patidar, the team’s standout hitter, eventually scored the winning 31 runs to take MP home.

Mumbai’s second innings score on the last day was 269, leaving MP with a meagre goal of 108. Young Suved Parkar (51) and Sarfaraz Khan (45), gave it their best shot, but with the necessity to attack at every chance, MP’s Kumar Kartikeya (4/98) and the other bowlers knew that wickets would eventually come their way.

Madhya Pradesh joins Gujarat, Vidarbha (now a two-time champion), and Saurashtra as the fourth team to win the Ranji Trophy for the first time in the previous five seasons.

Due to his century in the first innings and solid performance in the second, Shubham Sharma, the opener for MP, was named player of the match. Sarfaraz Khan of Mumbai has amassed more over 900 runs for his team this year.

After leading Vidarbha to back-to-back victories in 2018 and 2019, as well as three with Mumbai, the triumph now brings coach Chandrakanth Pandit’s impressive track record to a sixth Ranji trophy.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time