TATA IPL 2022 Umpiring failure: Rashid Khan’s first review as a captain sends back Robin Uthappa to the pavilion

Umpire get it wrong again and Robin Uthappa departed for 3 runs in 10 balls.

During the game between table toppers Gujarat Titans and defending champions Chennai Super Kings, another umpire decision was proved to be wrong as he guessed it totally wrong when Shami bowled an amazing bowl to dismiss Robin Uthappa.

Robin Uthappa was the first wicket of Chennai Super Kings and it was taken by none other than star Indian pacer Mohammad Shami in the 3rd over. He bowled a good delivery to Robin which hit on his thighs. Gujarat made a loud appeal but Umpire denied and said, “Not-out”. Later on, Rashid thought it could be the chance and took the review for the first time as captain in IPL.

The review from skipper Rashid Khan was successful and the Umpire had no other option but to change his decision. DRS showed no contact with the bat and and it wasn’t much height as well. All the boxes ticked and the previous decision got changed. Mohammad Shami dismissed Robin Uthappa thanks to DRS (Decision Review System).

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time