TATA IPL 2022: Rajasthan Royals full squad list post mega auction

Here is the list of players for RR in the upcoming IPL season.

Rajasthan Royals

Purse: 62 crore


Purse left: 0.95 crores

Biggest buys: Prasidh Krishna (10 crores), Shimron Hetmyer (INR 8.5 crores)

Rajasthan Royals retained Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, and Yashasvi Jaiswal which was their core before entering the TATA IPL mega auction. On the first day of the auction, RR bought the spin duo of R Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal for a combined total of 11.5 crores and in the pace artillery, they have Trent Boult and Prasidh Krishna which makes a deadly bowling combination.

By the end of the first day, Rajasthan Royals had most of their first-choice eleven in their bag. But on day two, they went into sleep and had only four overseas players on their team before the last round of accelerated auction. In the last moments of the auction, they picked up the likes of Rassie van der Dussen, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, and Daryl Mitchell.

The opening duo of Yashasvi Jaiswal & Devdutt Padikkal lacks experience. Also, both are left-handers which opposition teams can easily target unless the experienced Jos Buttler opens and pushes one of them into the third spot and they could face an issue in their lower middle order. If they go with Nathan Coulter-Nile in their starting elven they will be left with a batter short. If they choose for all-rounder James Neesham, their death bowling could become fragile.

Rajasthan Royals Batting Unit:
Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Karun Nair, Dhruv Jurel, Rassie Van Der Dussen

Rajasthan Royals all-rounders Unit:
James Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Riyan Parag, Anunay Singh, Shubham Garhwal.

Rajasthan Royals bowling unit:
Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Obed Mccoy, Kuldeep Sen, Tejas Baroka, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Kuldip Yadav.