India announced squad for South Africa T20 Series, ODI squad yet to be announced


South Africa will begin their tour with T20Is in Thiruvananthapuram (September 28), Guwahati (October 2), and Indore (October 4). The team for India’s three-match ODI series against the Proteas before the World Cup will be revealed in due course.

In preparation for the major tournament, the teams that will play Australia and South Africa comprise World Cup veterans Mohammed Shami and Deepak Chahar. Chahar returned to international T20I play against Afghanistan in India’s  Asia Cup match in the Super 4, whereas Shami hasn’t since the World Cup last year. The two will replace Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Hardik Pandya, who will each report to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru at various points during these two home series for conditioning-related training.

India squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Shami, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah.