IND v ENG 2nd T20I: India defeats England by 49 runs to secure series win

With a stunning victory in the second T20I at Edgbaston, India won the series for the second time in a row in T20I cricket played on English soil.

India defeated England by 49 runs on Saturday at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground to win the series in the 20-over format for the fourth time in a row (July 9). In the shortest format, the Men in Blue have now defeated the Three Lions twice in a row. The Rohit Sharma-led team won convincingly owing to a valiant effort from Ravindra Jadeja and a superb bowling performance.

India did a decent job at bat, scoring 170 for eight. In addition to Rohit Sharma’s 20-ball 31 and Rishabh Pant‘s 15-ball 26, Ravindra Jadeja led all scorers for India with an unbeaten 46 from 29 balls. The best bowler for England was Chris Jordan (4/27) while Richard Gleeson (3/15) made his debut with three wickets.


As they chased, England consistently gave wickets to be bowled out for 121 in 17 overs. The highest scorer for England was Moeen Ali, who hit 35 off 21 balls, followed by David Willey’s undefeated 33. Jasprit Bumrah (2/10) and Yuzvendra Chahal (2/10) both claimed two wickets, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar (3/15) claimed three for India.