Cricket Australia changes the rules for upcoming Big Bash League.

Big Bash league is an Australian domestic level T20 tournament which gets players from all over the globe to compete against each other. Players get signed by various franchises and the franchises are named after different cities of Australia.

Big Bash is known for experimenting with traditional cricket rules.  They started off with placing mics on the players while fielding and getting to know the atmosphere of the team live while fielding. Cricket Australia then introduced a new rule called ‘THE BAT FLIP’ instead of coin toss. Similarly this year CA has introduced 3 new rules in the upcoming edition of BBL.


The 3 new rules are POWER SURGE, BASH BOOST, THE X-FACTOR . 

POWER SURGE is a new concept which has never been tried before on this level. In POWER SURGE the powerplay which is usually for the first 6 overs of an innings has been reduced to 4 overs of an innings and the rest 2 overs the batting side can take whenever they want after the 11th over of the innings.

BASH BOOST is also a newly introduced concept which changes the pointing system. In this newly made rule, there are 4 points per match which comprises of 3 after winning and 1 point which is called THE BASH BOOST is awarded to the team after the match is halfway through of second innings  which has either scored above the equivalent score or has restricted the opposition from crossing that mark.

THE X-FACTOR  is highly similar to the SUPER SUB rule which was introduced back in 2005 but was abandoned  in less than 12 months of its introduction. Only change in THE X-FACTOR rule is that instead of one, teams can nominate 2 players before the toss to play as THE X-FACTOR. The condition for THE X-FACTOR to play is that the player who hasn’t batted or bowled multiple overs can be replaced by them.


Big Bash will start from the 10th of December this year with the first match being player between Hobart Hurricanes and Sydney Sixers at Hobart.