Captains gear up for T20 World Cup 2024 in USA and West Indies

As the T20 World Cup 2024 approaches, all eyes are on the 20 captains who are set to lead their respective teams in the highly anticipated cricket tournament jointly hosted by the USA and West Indies for the first time. With just days remaining, numerous teams have already announced their 15-member squads and sent them to the ICC.

Given the magnitude of the occasion, immense pressure rests on the shoulders of these skippers as they prepare to guide their star-studded teams in the 20-over tournament.


Let’s take a look at the captains gearing up for the T20 World Cup 2024:

1. Rohit Sharma (India)
2. Mitchell Marsh (Australia)
3. Jos Buttler (England)
4. Aiden Markram (South Africa)
5. Babar Azam (Pakistan)
6. Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
7. Rovman Powell (West Indies)
8. Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)
9. Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
10. Najmul Hossain Shanto (Bangladesh)
11. Aqib Ilyas (Oman)
12. Saad Bin Zafar (Canada)
13. Monank Patel (United States)
14. Richie Berrington (Scotland)
15. Brian Masaba (Uganda)
16. Paul Stirling (Ireland)
17. Rohit Paudel (Nepal)
18. Gerhard Erasmus (Namibia)
19. Scott Edwards (Netherlands)
20. Assadollah Vala (Papua New Guinea)

Indian captain Rohit Sharma is arguably under more pressure than any other skipper due to various reasons. Firstly, this could potentially be his last major ICC tournament, not just as a captain but also as a player, though this remains speculation. Secondly, Rohit will aim to overcome the scars of the 2022 T20 World Cup, where India lost to England in the semi-finals by 10 wickets.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma slams with an iconic answer when MI coach Boucher asks “what’s next”

It will be interesting to observe whether Rohit can lead his team to their second T20 World Cup title or not, as he faces the daunting task of guiding the men in blue to glory on the global stage.

With the captains and their teams gearing up for the T20 World Cup 2024, the stage is set for an enthralling and highly competitive tournament in the USA and West Indies.