BCCI offers a shortened domestic season for 2020-21

The BCCI has offered a shortened domestic season for the year 2020-21.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) offered the State Associations four options to start a shortened domestic season for the year 2020-21 due to coronavirus.

According to a report presented by The Hindu, BCCI secretary Jay Shah presented four options to the BCCI through mail for the domestic season ,in which choices include; Ranji Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali T20, Both (Ranji Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20), Both (Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 and Vijay Hazare Trophy)


The BCCI official email take in the details of the staging of the match. The BCCI will have to make a comprehensive six bio-secure bubble. The 5 elite groups  will consist of 6 teams each, While the Plate groups will have 8 teams.

“The BCCI will have to create a total of 6 bio-secure hubs across the country. The 38 teams will be divided into 5 Elite groups and 1 Plate group. The Elite groups will consist of 6 teams each while the Plate group will have 8 teams,” the BCCI email stated.

Indian cricket board’s top boss Ranji Trophy will require 67 days, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 22 days and the Vijay Hazare Trophy 28 days for completion. Whereas, the preliminary dates are January 11 to March 18 (Ranji), December 20 to January 10 (Syed Mushtaq Ali) and Vijay Hazare Trophy (January 11 to February 7).