BCCI appoints 1983 champion Roger Binny as the new Chief

At the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday in Mumbai, Roger Binny, the player who took the most wickets during India’s successful 1983 World Cup campaign, was formally elected as the organization’s 36th president without any challengers. Sourav Ganguly, a former captain of India, was succeeded by Binny when his three-year term as board chairman ended. Ganguly will now compete for the top position in the Cricket Association of Bengal.

According to reports, Devajit Saikia, Rajeev Shukla, Ashish Shelar, and Jay Shah are the other BCCI office holders who were unanimously chosen to serve as officers (joint secretary). As Birjesh Patel turns 70 the next month, outgoing treasurer Arun Dhumal will take over as IPL chairman.