Avishek Dalmiya and Arun Singh Dhumal re-elected to IPL governing council

In significant news for Indian cricket and the Indian Premier League (IPL), former CAB president Avishek Dalmiya and current IPL chairman Arun Singh Dhumal have been re-elected to the IPL governing council. This decision was made during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the BCCI held in Goa on Monday.

Additionally, Salil Ankola is set to continue as a selector. Speculations had arisen about his tenure, considering two candidates from the West zone were in contention for selector roles.


During the AGM, the BCCI informed about earning more than 38% of its annual revenue from the ICC and an estimated ₹67 crore per match from media rights during the upcoming cycle of bilateral series.

A state unit representative stated, “All routine decisions happened. The list of names for the cricket committees and the sub-committees will be prepared by the office bearers as entrusted by the House. As far as IPL GC is concerned, IPL chairman Arun Dhumal and Avishek Dalmiya were supposed to be elected, and it happened on expected lines.”

Moreover, it was revealed that the Ombudsman-cum-Ethics Officer will continue until June 2024, as per his existing contract.

The board members were also briefed on the new budget and the profits made by the BCCI in the last financial year. Former Indian left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha will no longer represent the Indian Cricketers’ Association in the Apex Council.

Regarding Salil Ankola’s tenure as selector, a decision is expected after the World Cup. As of now, no changes have been proposed among the selectors.

“The ICA will have its election and then choose their new representative. There has been no such discussion about this during the AGM. If there is anything, it can only happen after the World Cup. As of now, no selector is being changed,” stated a source.