Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan ruled out as Bangladesh announces T20 squad for Ireland series

Uncapped legspinner Rishad Hossain and uncapped wicketkeeper-batter Jaker Ali have been named to Bangladesh’s 14-man T20I squad to face Ireland. In the meantime, T20 specialist Afif Hossain and wicketkeeper-batter Nurul Hasan have been ruled out of the three-match series.

Afif was also left out of the final ODI squad against Ireland, while Shoriful Islam was released from the ODI squad to play in the Dhaka Premier League. Shoriful, on the other hand, will play in the Ireland T20Is. Tanvir Islam and Rezaur Rahman, who were part of the squad that played against England, were also left out.


“Since the series is against Ireland we want to see the progress of Rishad as the management are keen to have a wrist spinner. We feel he is well prepared being in the High Performance [HP] unit for a long period of time,” BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin said.

The three T20Is are scheduled on March 27, 29 and 31 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram.

Bangladesh T20I squad: Shakib Al Hasan [Captain], Litton Kumer Das, Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Jaker Ali Anik.