Afghanistan Cricket Board announces Test squad for Bangladesh clash, rests Rashid Khan

The Afghanistan Cricket Board has unveiled its 15-member Test squad for the upcoming one-off Test against Bangladesh. The squad includes three uncapped players, namely pacer Ibrahim Abdulrahimzai, Nijat Masoud, and young leg-spinner Izharulhaq. The highly anticipated game is scheduled to commence on June 14 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

The decision to rest Rashid Khan, the star spinner, comes as a surprise to many cricket enthusiasts. Rashid was the wrecker-in-chief in the last Test match between Afghanistan and Bangladesh, claiming 11 wickets and playing a pivotal role in Afghanistan’s historic victory in Chattogram in 2019.


The Afghanistan Cricket Board cited Rashid’s extensive cricketing commitments and a nagging back injury as the reasons behind his absence from the lone Test match against Bangladesh. Raees Ahmadzai, the assistant coach of the Afghanistan team, confirmed this decision and emphasized the importance of managing Rashid’s workload to prevent exacerbating his injury.

Meanwhile, the team management expressed excitement about the inclusion of young leg-spinner Izharulhaq in the squad. They are keen to witness how he copes with the pressure of international cricket and showcases his spin bowling skills on the grand stage.

In addition to the new faces, all-rounder Karim Janat has also earned a call-up to the side. Janat recently delivered a standout performance in the Ahmad Shah Abdali First Class Tournament, where he excelled both with the bat and ball. His remarkable all-round abilities and consistent performances earned him the title of the best player of the tournament.

The Afghanistan squad for the one-off Test against Bangladesh features Hashmatullah Shahidi as captain, with Rahmat Shah serving as vice-captain. The wicketkeeping duties will be shared by Afsar Zazai and Ikram Alikhail. Other notable players in the squad include Ibrahim Zadran, Abdul Malik, Baheer Shah, Nasir Jamal, Zahir Khan, Hamza Hotak, and Yamin Ahmadzai.

Zia ur Rahman Akbar, Noor Ali Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, and Sayed Ahmad Shirzad have been named as reserves for the tour, providing additional depth to the team.