Parliamentary vote for new Pakistan prime minister set for March 3

Pakistan’s National Assembly schedules the prime ministerial election for March 3. PML-N backs Shehbaz Sharif, while PTI nominates Omar Ayub Khan. The outcome is pivotal, with parties seeking majority support.

Pakistan’s National Assembly plans to elect a new prime minister on March 3, as announced by the assembly’s secretariat. Nomination papers for the prime ministerial candidacy will be accepted on Saturday, followed by the polling process on Sunday at the Parliament House in Islamabad.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) coalition has nominated Shehbaz Sharif, the former prime minister and leader of PML-N, for a second term. Conversely, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), led by imprisoned former Prime Minister Imran Khan, has proposed Omar Ayub Khan as its candidate.


To secure the premiership, a candidate must garner at least 169 votes from the 336-member parliament. The PML-N and its allies, including the Pakistan People’s Party, claim to have the support of over 200 lawmakers.

The election holds significance as it will determine the country’s leader for the next five years. Both major parties are vying for power, each presenting its candidate and seeking to gain the required parliamentary support. The outcome will shape Pakistan’s political landscape and direction for the foreseeable future.

Despite independent candidates supported by Imran Khan’s PTI securing the highest number of MPs, totalling 93, in the February 8 elections, the party failed to forge alliances with other political groups to achieve a simple majority. The inaugural session of the recently elected National Assembly convened on Thursday to oath to lawmakers.