Kangana Ranaut receives Padma Shri honour, says ‘this will silence so many people out there’

Bollywood actress Kanaga Ranaut alongside Ekta Kapoor, singer Adnan Sami and actress Sarita Joshi receives Padma Shri award.

Kangana Ranaut, who recently won the Best Actress National Award, was honoured by the government receiving the fourth highest prestigious civilian award in India on Monday.

Taking on to this limelight, she says how the Padma Shri Honour is an answer to all those who’ve questioned her ideology and statements on national issues. Reminding her fans of what she stood for and against, she took to her Instagram handle and posted a video where she thanks the Government and showed gratitude to all her followers.


She talks in her video, “as an artist, I’ve received many awards and honors and love from around the places. But this is the first time that I’ve been honored with such prestigious Padma Shri by the government of India, being its loyal citizen, I’m forever indebted. Starting my career at a young age and receiving success only after 8-10 years, I never stopped working towards my ambition, and in fact, loved the process. After getting success, instead of celebrating that, I started working on things like refusing the endorsement of fairness products, doing item numbers, working in films by big production houses with male actors. All along the process,i ended up making more enemies than money”

She also shared “I still have many cases recorded against me for the things I’ve spoken out for, people do ask me why I keep doing this even though it’s not a part of my job. I’d say now, this Padma Shri is a reply to them for once and for all. I thank my country from the bottom of my heart for this experience and honor. Jai Hind”

The ceremony took place at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Monday where the Padma Shri honors were given out to Kanaga Ranaut along with  Indian television producer Ekta Kapoor, singer Adnan Sami and veteran actor Sarita Joshi for their contribution to the field of performing arts. This honor was received by President Ramnath Kovind.

Later in the day,filmmakers-producers Karan Johar and late singer SP Balasubramaniam will also receive the honor.

A total of 119 personalities received this prestigious award in the year 2020.