World No. 1 Iga Swiatek wins 2022 WTA Player of the Year award

The 2021 Newcomer of the Year had a fantastic 2022, winning 67 matches overall.

Iga Swiatek, the top-ranked player in the world, won the WTA Player of the Year award for the first time in her career, and Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova were named the WTA Doubles Team of the Year, according to the organisation that oversees women’s tennis.


Polish player Swiatek won the French and U.S. Opens, as well as titles in Doha, Indian Wells, Miami, Stuttgart, Rome, and San Diego during a remarkable 37-match winning streak. The 2021 Newcomer of the Year had a fantastic 2022, winning 67 matches overall, dominating the list of finals attended, and taking home the most awards.

Siniakova won team honour for the second consecutive season. David Witt, Jessica Pegula’s mentor, was also honoured for his accomplishments when, after helping her reach the third spot in the rankings, he was chosen by his peers as the Coach of the Year.

In addition to winning the Guadalajara Open and making the quarterfinals at three of the four Grand Slams, Pegula made her first WTA 1000 final of her career at the Madrid Open. Ons Jabeur received the Karen Krantzcke Sportsmanship Award, while Zheng Qinwen of China, who gained more than 100 spots this year to a career-high ranking of 25, was awarded Newcomer of the Year. After cracking the top 20, Beatriz Haddad Maia of Brazil was voted the Most Improved Player of the Year. Tatjana Maria of Germany won the title of Comeback Player of the Year.