Sunil Chhetri & gold-medalist Neeraj Chopra are among the 12 to receive the Khel Ratna award

Indian football captain Chhetri and gold medalist Neeraj Chopra are among 12 who will receive Bharat’s Khel Ratna award on November 13th.

Sunil Chhetri who has been on the top of his form even at an advanced age and led his team to another SAFF championship while leading Team India in scoring, his name in international football is among the greatest footballers. He is 6th all-time in international scoring and just passed the Brazillian Pele.


Neeraj Chopra became the first Indian ever to ever win a gold medal in athletics let alone in Javeline throw. His gold medal in the 2021 Tokyo Olympics has ignited a new fire among the young Indians who want a career in sports. His domination in the Olympics earned him the right to receive Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award at such a young age.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Awardees are-

Neeraj Chopra (Athletics), Ravi Kumar(Wrestling), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), PR Sreejesh (Hockey), Avani Lekhara (Para Shooting), Sumit Antil (Para-Athletics), Pramod Bhagat (Para Badminton), Krishna Nagar (Para Badminton), Manish Narwal (Para Shooting), Mithali Raj (Cricket), Sunil Chhetri (Football), Manpreet Singh (Hockey).

A 12-member selection committee was led by former Supreme Court Judge Mukundakam Sharma (also a Paralympian) and included former cricketer Venkatesh Prasad, ex-world champion boxer L Sarita Devi, and more.

At a special function to be held at the Darbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan on Saturday, 13th November, at 4:30 PM (the date of their award ceremony), the awardees will receive their awards from the President of India.