USMNT dominates Bolivia to begin 2024 Copa America with emphatic win

There’s a long road ahead and plenty of room for improvement, but the U.S. Men’s National Team kicked off their 2024 Copa America campaign with a promising 2-0 victory over Bolivia in their Group C opener in Arlington on Sunday.

Christian Pulisic started the fireworks early, netting a stunning goal just three minutes into the match. It looked like the U.S. might cruise to an easy victory against their outmatched opponents. However, despite dominating possession and creating numerous chances, the Americans were a bit sloppy in midfield and struggled to finish off their opportunities.

Advertisement

The breakthrough finally came just before halftime when Folarin Balogun delivered a crucial second goal with a low, left-footed shot, making the rest of the match significantly more comfortable for the U.S.

Throughout the game, the U.S. was clearly the superior side, effectively shutting down Bolivia’s attack and giving goalkeeper Matt Turner a quiet evening. Despite this dominance, they couldn’t add to their tally in the second half, with substitute Ricardo Pepi seeing three close-range efforts saved by Bolivia’s goalkeeper, Guillermo Viscarra.

Overall, it was a strong performance from most of the USMNT players, though perhaps not the resounding win fans were hoping for to start the Copa America. Balogun and Pepi were both wasteful with prime scoring opportunities, and Chris Richards had some shaky moments building from the back. On the bright side, Gio Reyna and Tim Weah shone in the buildup, and Pulisic once again proved his superstar status. Collecting three points is a solid start, especially as they brace for tougher opponents ahead.

 

 

USA vs. Bolivia final score

Score Goal scorers
USA 2 Pulisic (3′),
Balogun (44′)
Bolivia 0  —

Venue: AT&T Stadium (Arlington, TX)
Referee: Maurizio Mariani (Italy)

Starting lineups:

USA (4-3-3, right to left): 1. Turner (GK) — Scally, 3. Richards, 13. Ream, 5. A. Robinson — 7. Reyna (Cardoso, 65′), 4. Adams (Musah, 46′), 8. McKennie (de la Torre, 78′) — 21. Weah (Aaronson, 86′), 20. Balogun (Pepi, 65′), 10. Pulisic.

Bolivia (5-4-1, right to left): 23. Viscarra (GK) — 17. Fernandez (Vaca, 76′), 2. Je. Sagredo, 3. Medina (Cuellar, 46′), 4. Haquin, 21. Jo. Sagredo — 20. Saucedo, 15. Villamil, 6. Justiniano (Ramallo, 46′) — 19. Miranda, 9. Menacho (Terceros, 46′).

 

 

USA vs. Bolivia kickoff time

Date Kickoff time
Eastern Time Sun, June 23 6:00 p.m
Central Time Sun, June 23 5:00 p.m.
Mountain Time Sun, June 23 4:00 p.m.
Pacific Time Sun, June 23 3:00 p.m.
Alaska ST Sun, June 23 2:00 p.m.
Hawaii ST Sun, June 23 12:00 p.m.

 

Copa America 2024 Group C standings

Pos. Team GP W-D-L Goals Goals against Points
1. Uruguay 1 1-0-0 3 1 3
2. USA 1 1-0-0 2 0 3
3. Bolivia 1 0-0-1 0 2 0
4. Panama 1 0-0-1 1 3 0

 

 

USA vs. Bolivia live stream, TV channel

  • TV channel (US): Fox, Univision, TUDN
  • Streaming (US): Fubo, Univision Now, TUDN app/website, ViX
  • TV channel (Canada): TSN 4
  • Streaming (Canada): TSN+, RDS app (French)