Sunil Chhetri set to lead Bengaluru FC in the 2021 AFC Cup playoff against Club Eagles on Aug 15

Bengaluru FC announces the squad ahead of their AFC Cup Playoff to secure a spot in Group D and join the Mariners, ATK Mohan Bagan.

Bengaluru FC is all set to take on Club Eagles from the Maldives in the 2021 AFC Cup playoff on August 15th as confirmed by the Indian club. 

The match is scheduled to take place in the National Stadium in the Maldives. The winner of the game shall secure a place in Group D. The Kolkatan footballing giants, ATK Mohan Bagan have already found themselves a spot in Group D along with Bashundhara Kings from Bangladesh and Maziya Sports and Recreation from the Maldives.


Bengaluru FC has announced their 29-man squad for the 2021 AFC Cup playoff with the skipper Sunil Chhetri to be leading the side. The club from Bangalore has been busy in the transfer market with the arrival of seven new signings.

Although they have strengthened their squad the absence that BFC face is at the heart of midfield with Erik Paartalu of Australia. Paartalu had allegedly breached the bio-bubble in the Maldives. This led to the postponement of the AFC Cup from May to August. The Asian Football Confederation had postponed the fixtures after the request made by the Maldives Government after the alleged breach of the COVID-19 bio-bubble by two BFC players.  

The names of the players were not officially confirmed apart from reports suggesting that the Aussie Erik Paartalu and the Spaniard Juanan Gonzalez were the breachers. A month later Juanan had parted ways with the club to secure a move to Hyderabad FC on a years contract. Paartalu’s situation remains unclear and has been missing from the club’s training camps.