Poland vs. Netherlands final score: Wout Weghorst scores late winner from bench for Netherlands against Poland

The Netherlands began their 2024 European Championship campaign with a hard-fought victory over Poland, clinching the win with a late goal from substitute Wout Weghorst.

Ronald Koeman’s squad faced an early setback in the first half when Adam Buksa, starting in place of the injured Robert Lewandowski, put Poland ahead with a well-executed header. Buksa’s goal, his first in a major international tournament and only his second in his last 12 appearances for Poland, beat the towering figure of Oranje captain Virgil Van Dijk and goalkeeper Bart Verbruggen, giving Poland an unexpected lead.

 

Advertisement

Starting lineups:

Poland (3-5-1-1):  Szczesny (GK) — Frankowski, Bednarek, Salamon, Kiwior — Urbanski, Romanczuk, Zielinski, Zalewski; Szymanski — Buksa.

Netherlands (4-3-3): Verbruggen (GK) — Dumfries, De Vrij, Van Dijk, Ake — Reijnders, Schouten, Veerman — Gakpo, Simons, Memphis.

 

Poland vs. Netherlands final score

FT Goal scorers
Poland 1 Buksa 16′
Netherlands 2 Gakpo 29′, Weghorst 83′

The Netherlands showed resilience after falling behind and pressed Poland relentlessly for an equalizer. Cody Gakpo eventually leveled the score just before the half-hour mark with a fortuitous long-range strike that took a wicked deflection past Wojciech Szczesny, who had been solid with several impressive saves.

Gakpo’s goal marked his knack for opening major tournaments for the Netherlands, having previously scored in similar fashion at the 2022 World Cup. It was his fourth goal in seven appearances at such prestigious events for his national team.

At halftime, both teams were deadlocked, but Ronald Koeman’s side emerged aggressively in the second half. Memphis Depay had a golden opportunity to put the Dutch ahead but failed to convert, slicing his shot wide.

As the match progressed, Poland persisted with their counterattacking strategy, which occasionally left them vulnerable defensively. Koeman then altered tactics by introducing Wout Weghorst and adopting a more direct approach.

In a stunning turn of events, Weghorst made an immediate impact, scoring with his first touch less than a minute after coming on. Nathan Ake delivered a precise pass into the box, allowing the former Manchester United forward to calmly finish past the former Arsenal goalkeeper.

The victory secures a crucial three points for the Netherlands in Group D, with tough matches against France and Austria still ahead.

 

Poland vs. Netherlands kickoff time

Date Kickoff time
USA/Canada Sun, Jun. 16 9 a.m. ET
USA/Canada Sun, Jun. 16 6 a.m. PT
UK Sun, Jun. 16 2 p.m. BST
Australia Sun, Jun. 16 11 p.m. AEST
India Sun, Jun. 16 6:30 p.m. IST