Jamshedpur FC wins maiden League Winners Shield

Owen Coyle leads Jamshedpur FC to League Winners Shield victory on a historic night.

Jamshedpur FC defeats ATK Mohun Bagan to clinch the League Winner’s Shield in a very deserving ISL season. The Men of Steel set a tournament record of seven straight wins as they become the first team to finish with a season-high of 43 points. Jamshedpur won their maiden title in style as they set two new records.

Jamshedpur stood tall and did not give much space for Mohun Bagan’s forwards to attack. JFC put up a solid defending performance and maintained the balance in the game as ATKMB came with all guns blazing.


Man of Match and Captain, Peter Hartley, was at the heart of their defence as he and Eli Sabia troubled ATKMB’s forwards.

While the players gave it their all and played their hearts out, coach Owen Coyle deserves credit for bringing the team together with his relentless optimism. He made a team, that finished sixth last season, champions without shedding loads of money.

Owen Coyle took charge of the club when they were at their worst, finishing eighth in the 2019-20 season. And he transformed them into champions in just two seasons.

Coyle’s recruitment, optimism on and off the pitch are a few of the reasons for this transformation. It is very rare that a player gets a second chance and relaunches his career in the ISL. But it has been possible for Ricky Lallawmawma, Boris Singh, Ritwik Das and Ishan Pandita thanks to Coyle’s trust in them.

One of the most benefitted players under Coyle’s charge is Daniel Chima Chukwu. The Nigerian striker scored just twice for his previous club SC East Bengal. While other managers would ignore such a forward, Coyle instilled belief in the forward and turned his career around.

JFC will face Kerala Blasters in the play-offs on March 11, while ATK Mohun Bagan will take on second-placed Hyderabad FC in their first leg on March 12.